2022 IPE Award Winner - Master of Biomedical Science Program



Congratulations to the 2022 recipient of the Interprofessional Education Excellence Award, the faculty and staff of the Duke Master of Biomedical Science Program!  This innovative, 10-month professional master’s program was designed to enhance the scientific and professional preparation of students aspiring to a career in the health professions or in a related field requiring graduate level biomedical sciences. The MBS team role models interprofessional respect; a best practice for our community here at Duke.  From Duke AHEAD associate dean Dr. Diana McNeill: "The MBS program has taught over 300 students from 151 undergraduate institutions. Over 2/3 of the students come from under- represented groups. It takes a village to prepare future health care professionals and the MBS program is one of the best examples of inter-disciplinary and interprofessional programs at Duke and in the country.   Under the leadership of Dr. Kathy Andolsek and her team, this program has been a wonderful addition  in supporting Duke Health’s mission of training  health care providers for the future."

Duke MBS Faculty & Staff: 

Franca B. Alphin, MPH, RDN, LDN, CSSD, CEDRD
Kathryn M. Andolsek, MD MPH
Melanie J. Bonner, PhD
Don W. Bradley, MD MHS
Leonor Corsino, MD, MHS, FACE
Maureen D. Cullins, AM
Anne L. Derouin, DNP, RN, CPNP
Samuel J. Francis, MD
Anthony Fuller, MD, MScGH
Kiani Gardner, Ph.D.
Judith Holder, PhD
Joseph A. Jackson, Jr., MD
Quincy Jones, MSW, MHS, PA-C
Christian Mauro, PhD
Christie McCray, M Ed
Jacquelyn McMillian-Bohler, PhD
Massiel Medina, MA
Alexa Namba, DO, MPH
Elizabeth Ross, PT, DPT, MMS
Daniel Schmitt, PhD
Adrienne Small, DNP
Rosa Solórzano, MD, MPH
Sandra Stinnett, DrPH
Brandi Tuttle, MS
Leonard E. White, PhD
Jamie Wood, PhD
Angel Zeininger, PhD

Assistant Dean of Premedical Education, Dr. Kathy Andolsek also wishes to acknowledge all who have helped ensure the success of the program, including:  James Smith, MD/Duke Urgent Care,  Rita Oakes, RN and Satish Subramaniam, MD Employee Occupational Health;  DOCR - Sue Budinger (Mark Stacey, MD)  and team, Gow Arepally, MD. Ahn Tran, PhD, John Anderson, MD/Duke Primary Care, Duke PDC, Dr. Kevin Thomas & Dr. Vivian Chu (BiGGER) and so many people/entities  in Health System. The SoM & SON who provide caring, support teaching, courses, employment opportunities! Community Colleges and their faculty including Lenoir Comm College (Kinston, NC) and Durham Tech Comm College (Durham, NC). Past MBS Faculty: Linda Lee, PhD (co designer/co conspirator in launching MBS);  Dr Matt Velkey for his vision support and teaching!; Jen Carbrey, PhD; Roxanne Larsen, PhD; Peggy Robinson PA-C;  Andrew Muzyk, Pharm D;  Beth Phillips, DNP, Leila Ledbetter; Nicole Stringham, PhD; Gabriel Yapuncich, PhD;  Brittany Garvin-Hudson, PhD who each brought their secret sauce! Leaders of other Duke SoM Programs including, Drs. Jacqui Barnett,  Tiffany Hilton, Todd Cade, Barb Hooper,  Rex Bentley, Randy Sears MMCi. Grateful to Dr. Nancy Andrews who first thought of an MBS type program; Dr. Mary Klotman who continues to resource us;  and Ed Buckley, MD who (almost) never says no and encourages us to think big;   Also Stacey McCorison who consistently (and selflessly) made magic happen and now Jen Averitt; Lori Crooks for scholarship support and Scott Campbell for inevitable magic with registrar's office. Karen Tesoriero for all she has done with COVID testing/access. Thanks to Sheba Hall, Rick Melges, and Scott Karl. Thanks to Dr. Pappas and Keely Kelley for help with report to University Oversight Committee. Thanks to Duke AHEAD, seven classes of MBS Students, Fullerton Foundation, & Christopher Steed.